Hello everyone!  i created this blog to further the discussion on this issue. feel free to post any thoughts or feelings you have regarding this issue, as well as any personal experiences.

here are some questions to think about:
Do you think the media needs to change? should there be more positive images and roles of women in the media? Is the media pressure damaging to young girls self esteem and their definiton of beauty?
Holly Ann
5/14/2012 05:43:34 pm

I couldn't agree more with you! As a young lady I always had self-esteem issues. I would see celebrities and think " why can't I be as skinny, pretty, and perfect as them". This would cause me to do crash diets and even lead to eating disorders. After years I have finally come to realize I don't need to do those things. I am beautiful for who I am not what I am. Thank you for taking a stand for women!

Reply
Fi Johnson
6/13/2012 05:29:30 am

Hey Im sort of going off on a tangent here, I just wanna share my thoughts on female artists, and how they represent females and how its going to affect kids in the future and also I think this is a reason why men are becoming so much more disrespectful and seeing women as sexual objects.... I believe that singers like Rihanna are the ones who are misrepresenting females. Kids are now growing up to her explicit lyrics, songs like "Rude Boy" and "S&M". Shes a disgrace, Im 23 and I grew up listening to the Spice Girls and all those other pop groups. They were child proof lyrics, kids these days are looking up to the likes Of "RiRi" & Nikki Minaj etc. Things are only going to get worse for these kids if their idols continue wearing provocative clothes,with their boobs on display and seeing them posing topless on their own twitter accounts etc. I have such a strong opinion on this. No wonder women are being sexually assaulted on nights out, when we wear skimpy outfits, men automatically think we are easy, sometimes we just wanna dress for ourselves! Im so glad I came across this blog!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    May 2012

    Categories

    All